Press Room

Welcome to the Press Room for the Holberg Prize, Nils Klim Prize and Holberg Prize School Project. Here you will find the latest press releases, photos and biographies.




Onora O’Neill (b.1941), Baroness O’Neill of Bengarve, is a British scholar and Professor of philosophy. O’Neill is the author of fourteen books, including Constructions of Reason: Exploration of Kant’s Practical Philosophy (1989) and Bounds of Justice (2000). She is a crossbench member of the House of Lords since 1999 and a former President of the British Academy.

O’Neill has written extensively on political philosophy and ethics, in particular on the work of Immanuel Kant. Recent publications also address questions about bioethics and global justice, accountability and trust, the future of universities and the ethics of communication. She is highly regarded as a specialist on human rights.               

O’Neill was Principal of Newnham College from 1992 until 2006. In 2003 she was appointed Honorary Professor of Ethics and Political Philosophy in the Faculty of Philosophy, University of Cambridge, where she became Professor Emeritus in 2009. She has received a number of honorary elections during her career, including Honorary Fellow of the Royal Society (2007) and Foreign Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1993).

O’Neill’s academic success has been combined with a range of public activities. She was President of the British Academy from 2005-2009, and she chaired the Nuffield Foundation from 1998-2010. She has also been chairperson of the Nuffield Council on Bioethics (1996-1998) and of the British Philosophical Association (2003-2006). From 2012 until 2016 O’Neill chaired the UK’s Equality and Human Rights Commission. She is currently on the boards of the Medical Research Council and the Banking Standards Review, and she is a trustee of the Foundation of Science and Technology.

Citations from the Holberg Committee
Prize Winner Page
Onora O'Neills Acceptance Speech, 8 June 2017




Those who wish to contact a scholar with expert knowledge of Professor Onora O'Neill and her field, may contact:

Dr. Angela Breitenbach
The University of Cambridge
Phone: +46 (0)18 565467 – 5214
(wait for prompt before entering the four-digit extension)




Katrine Vellesen Løken (b.1983) is a Professor of Economics at the Faculty of Social Sciences, University of Bergen, Norway. Her research investigates topics ranging from family policy studies to the health sciences and criminology.

Vellesen Løken received her doctoral degree from the University of Bergen in 2010, and became an Associate Professor at the Department of Economics in 2013. In 2014, at the age of 31, she became the youngest professor of Economics in Norway. She has had research stays at the University College in London and at the University of California, San Diego. Her list of publications includes articles in leading international journals of her discipline, such as American Economic Review, American Economic Journal, Journal of Political Economy and Review of Economics and Statistics.

Vellesen Løken is an Associate Editor for the Review of Economic Studies and the Scandinavian Journal of Economics. She is also a Research Fellow at Statistics Norway and at the Institute for the Study of Labour (IZA) in Bonn, Germany.

Citations from the Nils Klim Committee
Prize Winner Page



Those who wish to contact a scholar with expert knowledge of Katrine Vellesen Løken and her field of research, may contact:

Professor Kjell Erik Lommerud
University of Bergen
Tlf: 958 01 901 


Press release, 11 March 2016: The Holberg Prize Names American Literature Professor and Shakespeare Scholar as 2016 Laureate
Press release, 11 March 2016: Swedish EU Researcher Awarded Nordic Research Prize
Press release, 11 March 2016: Le prix Holberg est décerné à un chercheur américain, spécialiste de Shakespeare
Press release, 11 March 2016: Holberg-Preis 2016 geht an amerikanischen Shakespeare-Forscher
Press release, 11 March 2016: Investigador estadounidense de Shakespeare recibe el Premio Holberg
Press release 11 August 2015: Ellen Mortensen appointed as new Adademic Director for the Holberg Prize
Press release 10 June 2015:  The Holberg Prize Awarded to Marina Warner Today
Press release 12 March 2015: The Holberg Prize Names British Storyteller and Fairytale Critic Marina Warner as 2015 Laureate
Press release 12 March 2015: Danish EU scholar receives Nordic award


Holberg Prize: Norwegian jpgnorwegian epsenglish jpgenglish eps
Nils Klim Prize: Norwegian jpgnorwegian epsenglish jpgenglish eps
Holberg Prize School Project: Norwegian jpgnorwegian eps



    The Holberg Prize is the largest international, annual academic award within the arts and humanities, social sciences, law and theology.
    The prize was established by the Norwegian government in 2003 and has a money value of NOK 6 millioner (approx. EUR 617,000 / USD 760,000).
    Previous winners include Stephen Greenblatt, Jürgen Habermas and Julia Kristeva.
    The Holberg Prize is named after the scholar and author Ludvig Holberg, who brought the Age of Enlightenment to the Nordic countries.


    The Nils Klim Prize is awarded annually to a Nordic scholar under the age of 35 for excellent research contributions within the arts, humanities, social sciences, law and theology. 
    The prize has a money value of NOK 500 000 and is presented together with the Holberg Prize each year.
    The prize is named after the hero in Ludvig Holberg’s novel Nils Klim’s journey to the underworld from 1741.